2022/2023 COMMITTEE

Patron, Colonel Edward Bolitho OBE: Lord Lieutenant of Cornwall

Chair, John Pender: Former Planning Officer/ Compiled Planning

Hon Secretary, Mandy Pearce: Retired RE Teacher and Liaison with Schools and Churches

Hon Treasurer, Leslie Lipert: Kehillat Kernow

Other Committee Members:

Louise Connell: Website Manager and Head of Programme Management, Tate St Ives

Jack Dixon: Former Town Mayor of Penzance

Jeremy Jacobson OBE: Retired from British Council; Chairman of Kehilliat Kernow and Liaison with the Cornwall Faith Forum

Keith Pearce: Custodian, Retired Lecturer, Local Representative of the Board of Deputies of British Jews, Cemetery Archivist

Jan Ruhrmund: Former Town Mayor of Penzance, Assistant Custodian/ Key Holder

Paul Stephens: Founder/Managing Director of Poltair Homes Ltd

Caroline WhiteFormer Town Mayor of Penzance

Cllr Joan BeveridgeElected Member of the Town Council

Honorary Committee Members:

James Jacoby: Notary Public

Ruth Robinson, daughter of the former Town Clerk, the late David Gallie

David Gallie (1948-2022)
We regret that one of our honorary members, David Gallie, died on 25th May 2022.
David was Town Clerk of Penzance from 1993-2009, and during that period he recognised the historical and cultural importance of the Penzance Jewish Cemetery, which is the first Jewish burial ground to have been Grade II listed. David worked with enthusiasm to conserve the cemetery, and negotiated a voluntary maintenance agreement between the Town Council and the owners, the Board of Deputies of British Jews of London (now BOD Heritage).
Since his retirement the cemetery has been fully restored, with financial support from the Heritage Lottery Fund, the Cornwall Heritage Trust, and other organisations, and from many private donations. When the Committee for the Friends of the Penzance Jewish Cemetery was established, David agreed to become an honorary member. The cemetery has received many visitors, both Jewish and non-Jewish, local people and those on holiday. In 2021-2022 alone, there were around one hundred visitors. We owe him a great debt for his support, and extend our sincerest condolences to his family.       

David Gallie (1948-2022)